Georgia Chamber Announces 2020 ‘Legislators of the Year’

Walt Farrell

Published October 15, 2020

Press Release

Today, the Georgia Chamber of Commerce announced its 2020 Legislators of the Year awards. These awards are given to those elected officials who focus their legislative efforts on enacting policies that promote economic development and job creation throughout the state. These legislators are voted on by the Executive Committee of the Georgia Chamber’s Government Affairs Council (GAC), the body that both determines the organization’s legislative agenda, and directs the positions the organization takes on specific legislation.

Each year, the Georgia Chamber awards one state Senate member, one state House member and one freshman legislator as their Legislators of the Year. This year’s recipients are Senator John F. Kennedy (Macon), Representative Brett Harrell (Snellville) and Representative Houston Gaines (Athens), respectively.

Senator John Kennedy stated, “Throughout my tenure in the State Senate, I have held my relationship with the Georgia Chamber and the business community in the highest regard.  I’m honored to receive this esteemed award from an organization who understands the unique relationship that business and government must maintain to ensure our continued successes for our job creators, workforce and families alike.”

Representative Brett Harrell remarked, “I’m honored to be recognized as the House Legislator of the Year by the Georgia Chamber. It is crucial during this time of recovery that we focus on businesses and employers as the drivers of Georgia’s economy. I look forward to continuing to work with the Georgia Chamber to enact smart, flexible policy to help us recover and make our state more resilient.”

"I'm proud to be a pro-business, pro-jobs legislator, and I'm honored by this recognition,” said Representative Houston Gaines. “My priority will remain keeping our community healthy and safe while helping our Georgia businesses recover and grow stronger than ever. I look forward to the continued partnership with the Chamber and the business community to keep Georgia the number one state in which to do business for years to come."

The Georgia Chamber congratulates this year’s award recipients and commends them for their dedication to their constituents and to our great state.

2020 Legislator of Year recipients Sen. John Kennedy, Rep. Brett Harrell and Rep. Houston Gaines
Senator Kennedy, Representatives Harrell and Gaines recognized for their leadership in the State